//
you're reading...
Pre-MBA

And we are back!


It has been so so … so long! I had almost forgotten about this blog. After sharing my GMAT and MBA application journey and reveling at a Kellogg admit, I couldn’t wait to chronicle life as an MBA student in Evanston. But fate, it seems, had other plans.

In parallel to my application, I had been pushing for a transfer within my company. And as luck would have it, I got a transfer letter and an admit letter at around the same time. So I thought hard and decided to give one more shot to a career in engineering, packed my bags and moved to USA. The decision turned out to be pretty awesome in hindsight – I got to work with a great team, learn a lot about American culture, meet long lost friends, backpack around South America, drive down from Portland to San Diego and generally have a great time! Although content with where I currently am, I see a glass ceiling above me.

I am happiest learning different things, facing newer challenges and pushing myself to the limits. Great as my career is right now, I do not see myself going too far down the current path. An MBA on the other hand promises to open paths towards other interests and a world full of things to discover. That allure is too great for me to overcome a second time and hence I have decided to finally join the Kellogg School of Management this fall.

While I am still wrapping my head around being a student again (no salary … aaaaaah), I believe this decision is for the best in the long run. I also hope that I will be able to carry on with this blog and provide an insight into the life of an international student at Kellogg.

I would cover my DAK visit, interaction with Kellogg students/alumni and the admission formalities in my next few posts.

P.S. : A special shout out to ak2012 from gmatclub who reminded me about blogging again πŸ™‚

Discussion

5 thoughts on “And we are back!

  1. Welcome back! Looking forward to hearing about life in Evanston.

    Posted by hamm0 | April 5, 2013, 8:33 pm
  2. hey, i just started reading your blogs today and read them all through from 1st to last. I am planning for the GMAT and MBA by fall 2014…..So basically u did not go for MBA in 2012..? well, nice roller coaster you had. So is it that your second shot at engineering career in US was similar to what you had done so far,not challenging, and that prompted you to take the Kellogg offer? Also to get your mba deferred for a year, what was the reason that you provided to the Univ..if you do not mind sharing it that is. Thanks a lot,
    yours’
    Future MBA Aspirant.

    Posted by Anonymous | April 12, 2013, 7:36 am
    • Hey … great that you found my troubles of chronicling my journey worthy … I think staleness is a big part of my I have decided that I need a newer challenge … The reason for the deferment was something very personal so hope you will understand … feel free to reach out for any advice through your application and best of luck πŸ™‚

      Posted by pyarapopat | April 21, 2013, 11:35 pm
  3. itz nice you realized about this blog..itz alwz good to hear from an experienced person whoz been there and done that.! πŸ™‚

    Posted by Anonymous | April 12, 2013, 7:38 am

Leave a Reply

ClearAdmit

B-School Buzz

Stacy Blackman B-school Buzz

Blog Stats

  • 39,147 hits
